Donovan Woods Returns with 'Hard Settle, Ain't Troubled'

Donovan Woods Returns with 'Hard Settle, Ain't Troubled'
Following the fall unveiling of his down and out infidelity number "On the Nights You Stay Home," Donovan Woods has now offered up all the details of his forthcoming LP. Titled Hard Settle, Ain't Troubled, the record arrives February 26 through the artist's own Meant Well imprint.

A press release notes that Woods' latest features 11 tunes that were recorded by producer James Bunton (Evening Hymns, the Wooden Sky). Apparently Woods had a bit of extra money in his pocket ahead of recording, which allowed him to bring more friends into the studio this time around.

"For the first time I had a budget, and I was able to hire all the people I wanted," Woods explained in a statement. "The danger in that is that you might let people play on the songs only because they're really good at playing. We tried to make sure every decision best served the song in question, and likely removed as many things as we added. My hope was that we'd make a record that pulsed with the stuff of real relationships and difficult decisions."

The country- and folk-mining collection follows 2013's Juno-nominated Don't Get Too Grand. In addition to "On the Nights You Stay Home," it features Woods' "Portland, Maine," a song that was also recorded by Tim McGraw.

Ahead of the album's release, he's teasing the set with a stream of "The First Time," a song that explores the not always ideal introduction to intimacy.

"I was recently reminded that people's 'first times' are most often not that good, and I think that's definitely right," he said. "To me, it's about memories getting better with time, and coming to terms with the fact that you can never experience something the same way again because your memory of it is completely made up. It's also about not being able to measure up to someone's idea of you."

You'll find the track and an album trailer down below.

Hard Settle, Ain't Troubled:

1. What Kind Of Love Is That?
2. On the Nights You Stay Home
3. The First Time
4. My Good Friends
5. They Don't Make Anything In That Town
6. We Never Met
7. Do I Know Your Name
8. Between Cities
9. May 21, 2012
10. Leaving Nashville
11. Portland, Maine