Between the Buried and Me Announce New Album 'Colors II'

The first single "Fix the Error" features three guest drum soloists
Between the Buried and Me Announce New Album 'Colors II'
Just over 10 years removed from releasing their landmark album Colors, Between the Buried and Me have returned with news of a follow-up. The progressive outfit will deliver Colors II on August 20 through Sumerian Records.

The first song to arrive from the 12-track Colors II is "Fix the Error," which you can hear below. It features a drum solo section featuring a trio of talented timekeepers in Mike Portnoy (ex-Dream Theater), Navene Koperweis (ex-Animals as Leaders) and Ken Schalk (ex-Candiria).

"Colors was very much our attempt at a do-or-die statement," BTBAM guitarist Paul Waggoner shared in a statement. "We had to establish our identity and be who we really wanted to be in order to have a career. This time around, our industry was shutdown for a year. Once tours were canceled due to the pandemic, we were, like, 'We've got to write a record, and it's got to be good.' We had to do something next level."

Vocalist Tommy Giles Rogers added: "Especially with 2020, we really wanted to give it all we could and show the world we're still here. That's part of the reason we named it Colors II. We were in a similar spot when we did the first Colors. Back then, we had just gotten done with Ozzfest. We were wondering, 'Where do we belong in this music scene?' We still struggle with that. At both of these moments in our career, we decided to just be ourselves and write the best album we can. We came out guns blazing, and I feel like it's some of our most creative material in a long time."

In a 2007 review, Exclaim! called Colors "a winding maze of ascending beauty and annihilating deterioration."

Between the Buried and Me last released the two-part Automata concept album in 2018.

Colors II:

1. Monochrome
2. The Double Helix of Extinction
3. Revolution In Limbo
4. Fix The Error
5. Never Seen/Future Shock
6. Stare Into The Abyss
7. Prehistory
8. Bad Habits
9. The Future Is Behind Us
10. Turbulent
11. Sfumato
12. Human Is Hell (Another One With Love)

Pre-order Colors II.