Cryptopsy Return with New Full-Length

Cryptopsy Return with New Full-Length
By all accounts, Quebecois heavy music vets Cryptopsy's 2008 set The Unspoken King was a step up from the "near-unlistenable"Once Was Not, but Exclaim! still considered it "their second consecutive disappointment." If all goes according to plan, though, a newly announced self-titled full-length will get the iconic technical death metal outfit back on track.

Earlier today (June 8), the band dropped news of the eponymous LP on their Facebook page. They did not, however, give any specifics as to when the record will arrive. Nevertheless, that's its skull- and bat-adorned cover art above. And just in case you forgot whose album we're talking about, Mircea Gabriel Eftemie has emblazoned his artwork with two separate band logos.

The eight-song set will be the first to feature new bassist Olivier Pinard (Neuraxis,Vengeful), who joined the band this past January after the departure of guitarist-turned-bassist Youri Raymond.

"It's in the best interest of both the band and I to part ways." Raymond had previously said in a statement. "As a musician, moving from guitar to bass was a great challenge, but honestly, I never really felt comfortable in that position and my motivation in general was stagnating."

While proper sound samples have yet to be delivered, you can catch a live clip of new tune "Amputated Enigma," performed at Windsor, ON's Dominion House last April, down below.


1. Two-Pound Torch

2. Shag Harbour's Visitors

3. Red-Skinned Scapegoat

4. Damned Draft Dodgers

5. Amputated Enigma

6. The Golden Square Mile

7. Ominous

8. Cleansing The Hosts