IDLES Announce Third Album 'Ultra Mono,' Share New Single

Watch the video for new single "Grounds" now
IDLES Announce Third Album 'Ultra Mono,' Share New Single
British post-punks IDLES have announced their third album, Ultra Mono. The follow-up to 2018's Joy As an Act of Resistance, the new album is due September 25 on Partisan Records. The band have also shared a music video for new single "Grounds."

Ultra Mono finds the quintet continuing their upheaval of toxic masculinity and the patriarchy by demolishing their inclinations from within, and "Grounds" is no different. Atop grinding guitars and a thumping backbone, vocalist Joe Talbot calls listeners to rise together against capitalism, sexism and racism.

In a statement, Talbot says of the new song, "We wanted to write a song that embodied self-belief, and gave us self-belief — a counter-punch to all the doubt we build up from all the noise we so easily let in. We wanted to make the sound of our own hearts' marching band, armed with a jack hammer and a smile. We wanted to make the sound of our engine starting. So we did. Thank you."

Ultra Mono features production and programming by Nick Launay, Adam "Atom" Greenspan and Kenny Beats, along with guest appearances by Warren Ellis, David Yow and Jamie Cullum. Most notably, one track features guest vocals from Savages' Jehnny Beth. Talbot recently appeared on Beth's new album, To Love Is to Live.

Ultra Mono will be launched with a trio of professionally livestreamed performances from an as-yet-unrevealed studio space on August 29 and 30.

Watch the video for "Grounds" below, and keep scrolling for more information on Ultra Mono.

Ultra Mono:

1. War
2. Grounds
3. Mr. Motivator
4. Anxiety
5. Kill Them with Kindness
6. Model Village
7. Ne Touche Pas Moi (ft. Jehnny Beth)
8. Carcinogenic
9. Reigns
10. The Lover
11. A Hymn
12. Danke

Pre-order Ultra Mono.