My Morning Jacket Treat 'It Still Moves' to Expanded Reissue

My Morning Jacket Treat 'It Still Moves' to Expanded Reissue
A year on from 2015's The Waterfall, Kentucky rock'n'rollers My Morning Jacket are now looking to the past, as they're readying a reissue of their 2003 album It Still Moves. This expanded edition of the LP will be out on May 27 through ATO Records/Cadence Music.

This edition of the album has been remixed. Frontman Jim James told the New York Times, "When we mixed it originally, we didn't have enough time. We thought we were happy with it, but there are certain things that bothered me when I would listen to it, like, 'Oh my God, you can't hear that guitar solo.'"

The new mix reportedly sounded clearer, and James likened it to "removing the wet blanket that was lying on top of the speakers."

The new mix was done with returning collaborator Kevin Ratterman at his Louisville studio.

The 12-song tracklist comes boosted with some extra cuts. There are three outtakes, which were previously omitted because they "didn't fit" with the rest of the material. One of these, an instrumental called "Grab a Body," came out on a Record Store Day release in 2012 (hear it below); the other two are previously unreleased. The unheard cut "En la Ceremony" has been updated with a new arrangement of classical guitar, horns and keys.

The reissue also includes 10 of James' bedroom demos.

Additionally, the band have new music in the works. James has a solo album likely due out in the fall, and he added, "Another Jacket record is in progress. I've just recently rediscovered this desire for scorching rock'n'roll, and that's hopefully what we'll get around to." Don't expect the new My Morning Jacket album to come out this year, however.

It Still Moves (Deluxe Reissue):

Original Album:

1. Mahgeetah
2. Dancefloors
3. Golden
4. Masterplan
5. One Big Boliday
6. I Will Sing You Songs
7. Easy Morning Rebel
8. Run Thru
9. Rollin Back
10. Just One Thing
11. Steam Engine
12. One In The Same

Bonus Material:

13. En La Ceremony
14. Grab A Body
15. That's Too Bad
16. Mahgeetah (Demo)
17. Dancefloors (Demo)
18. Golden (Demo)
19. Masterplan (Demo)
20. I Will Sing You Songs (Demo)
21. Easy Morning Rebel (Demo)
22. Run Thru (Demo)
23. Rollin Back (Demo)
24. Steam Engine (Demo)
25. One In The Same (Demo)