Pantera Celebrate 20th Anniversary of 'The Great Southern Trendkill' with Expanded Reissue

Pantera Celebrate 20th Anniversary of 'The Great Southern Trendkill' with Expanded Reissue
While Pantera covered their History of Hostility via a greatest-hits set last year, the Texas metal legends are now set to re-explore one of their heaviest records. The band's monstrous The Great Southern Trendkill is being treated to a deluxe 20th anniversary reissue.

Following similar treatments for 1990's Cowboys from Hell, 1992's Vulgar Display of Power and 1994's Far Beyond Driven, Rhino Records will deliver an expanded, two-disc version of The Great Southern Trendkill on October 21. The set finds a remastered version of the original album on the first disc, with the second CD showcasing various unreleased goodies.

A grab bag of previously unreleased material, the extras disc includes everything from a brand new mix of the title track, to a live version of "War Nerve" recorded in 1998, to an instrumental version of " Living Through Me (Hell's Wrath)." Also included are two attempts at "Suicide Note Pt. 1," one being a rough mix, and the other showcasing the 12-string acoustic guitar skills of the late Dimebag Darrell Abbott.

You'll find the details on the tracklisting down below.

If you've already picked up this particular Pantera album, it should be noted that 10 of the 12 bonus tracks are also being collected on a separate vinyl LP titled The Great Southern Outtakes, which is also due October 21. You can pre-order the vinyl of outtakes here, while the entire reissue package on CD can be ordered here.

The reissue isn't the only Pantera release coming this fall. Earlier this month, the band confirmed that a visual history book called A Vulgar Display of Pantera arrives in September. You can find out more about the coffee table book over here.

The Great Southern Trendkill: 20th Anniversary Edition:

Disc 1:

1. The Great Southern Trendkill
2. War Nerve
3. Drag The Waters
4. 10 s
5. 13 Steps To Nowhere
6. Suicide Note Pt. I
7. Suicide Note Pt. II
8. Living Through Me (Hell's Wrath)
9. Floods
10. The Underground In America
11. (Reprise) Sandblasted Skin

Disc 2:

1. The Great Southern Trendkill (2016 Mix)
2. War Nerve (Live 98)
3. Drag The Waters (Early Mix)
4. 10 s (Early Mix)
5. 13 Steps To Nowhere (Instrumental Version)
6. Suicide Note Pt. I (Intro) *
7. Suicide Note Pt. I (Early Mix) *
8. Suicide Note Pt. II (Live 98)
9. Living Through Me (Hell's Wrath) (Instrumental Version)
10. Floods (Early Mix)
11. The Underground In America (Early Mix)
12. Sandblasted Skin (Live 98)