Psychic Ills Unveil 'Inner Journey Out,' Share Hope Sandoval Collaboration

Psychic Ills Unveil 'Inner Journey Out,' Share Hope Sandoval Collaboration
Three years on from issuing their One Track Mind, New York outfit Psychic Ills have announced they're adding another album to their ever-expanding catalogue. The band's fifth full-length release is titled Inner Journey Out, and it lands June 3 through longtime label home Sacred Bones Records.

A press release explains that the material on Inner Journey Out came from a series of demos recorded by frontman Tres Warren, with bassist Elizabeth Hart adding her style to the studio sessions. While Warren overdubbed plenty of sounds on older Psychic Ills LPs, the band reached out to a number of friends to help fill in the gaps this time around.

Inner Journey Out is the first studio album to feature Psychic Ills' touring keyboardist Brent Cordero. Guests include Mazzy Star singer Hope Sandoval, who sings the "I Don't Mind" duet with Warren. That track is streaming below.

Also contributing to the record are drummer/percussionists Chris Millstein, Harry Druzd (Endless Boogie), Derek James (the Entrance Band) and Charles Burst.

Sonically, the set is said to flirt with elements of psych rock, blues, jazz and gospel. Thematically, Psychic Ills are "hinting tantalizingly at love and loss but denying the listener resolution."

You'll find the tracklisting for the album below, while info on the group's upcoming European tour can be found here.

Inner Journey Out:

1. Back to You
2. Another Change
3. I Don't Mind (ft. Hope Sandoval)
4. Mixed Up Mind
5. All Alone
6. New Mantra
7. Coca-Cola Blues
8. Baby
9. Music in My Head
10. No Worry
11. Hazel Green
12. Confusion (I'm Alright)
13. Ra Wah Wah
14. Fade Me Out