Pusha-T Confirms His New Album Is Out This Friday

The album formerly known as 'King Push' is now called 'DAYTONA'
Pusha-T Confirms His New Album Is Out This Friday
After his G.O.O.D. Music partner Kanye West hinted that new music was on the way, Pusha-T has confirmed the rumoured release date for his long-awaited new album.

Today Pusha-T stated that he's set to deliver a full-length titled DAYTONA this Friday (May 25). It follows his 2015 LP King Push - Darkest Before Dawn: The Prelude. The album runs seven tracks in length and features appearances from Rick Ross and Kanye West, the latter appearing on a track titled "What Would Meek Do?"

As Pusha told Exclaim! back in early 2016, the follow-up LP was slated to be titled King Push, though he explained the name change in a Twitter thread following the announcement.

"I changed the album title from 'King Push' to 'DAYTONA' because I felt it didn't represent the overall message of this body of work," he explained on Twitter. "'DAYTONA' represents the fact that I have the luxury of time. That luxury only comes when u have a skill set that your [sic] confident in."

As one could have probably guessed by the amount of new music West had promised in one shot weeks ago, Pusha revealed that his own release is "all happening in real time."

"You don't have my art work because I don't have my art work...the final master was turned in 2 hours ago, no single (what are those?), I'm not interested in any of that...," he wrote.

Of the album's material, Pusha wrote that DAYTONA "is for my family...high taste level, luxury, drug raps fans. Literally this is nothing more than the outcome of our musical therapy sessions."

Pusha-T had previously teased the arrival of a new LP with singles "Drug Dealers Anonymous," "Circles" and "H.G.T.V." It is currently unclear whether any or all of the aforementioned tracks will appear on DAYTONA.

The album also signals the return of a hyphen to Pusha-T's name, which he previously used as a member of Clipse. Pitchfork confirmed the name alteration with a publicist for the rapper.

Find his album announcement and tracklist for DAYTONA below.


1. If You Know You Know
2. The Games We Play
3. Hard Piano (ft. Rick Ross)
4. Come Back Baby
5. Santeria
6. What Would Meek Do? (ft. Kanye West)
7. Infrared