​Rebecca Foon Gets Richard Reed Parry, Patrick Watson for New Album 'Waxing Moon'

It also features Sophie Trudeau of Godspeed You! Black Emperor and Jace Lasek of the Besnard Lakes
​Rebecca Foon Gets Richard Reed Parry, Patrick Watson for New Album 'Waxing Moon'
Rebecca Foon has announced details for her debut solo album under her own name. Titled Waxing Moon, it will arrive February 21 via Constellation.
Foon has previously released solo work under the moniker Saltland and has collaborated with the likes of Thee Silver Mt. Zion, Esmerine and Set Fire to Flames.

For the latest solo LP, she enlisted contributions from the likes of Richard Reed Parry of Arcade Fire, Sophie Trudeau of Godspeed You! Black Emperor, Jace Lasek of the Besnard Lakes and Patrick Watson.
Foon described the forthcoming record as "by far the most raw record I have ever made, and the most direct channeling of emotions I have ever put into music."
In a statement, she explained:
We are in a time of enormous sadness and fear as humanity and all sentient beings are faced with incredible unknowns about our collective future. This album channels my love for our beautiful world and the personal heartbreak I have experienced over the last couple of years in my own life, amidst despair over our dying planet facing mass extinction. Making this music was a way for me to communicate on some level the interplay between the micro/macro, the exchange between trying to live in each precious moment while navigating the beauty, chaos and pain of being alive together, the spirit world that surrounds us and how it can touch us in the most unanticipated magical ways, and the human struggle of how to truly make a positive impact in these dire times – with all the hope and loss of hope that comes with it.  Making this music has saved me on so many levels, and I hope it can provide some connection to another realm for a moment as it did for me. I am so grateful. With love and hope for a renewable, equitable and just world. xoxo
The first track to arrive from the new album is called "Dreams to Be Born." Stream it below.