Rheostatics Announce Their First New Album in 15 Years

Watch a video for the title track from 'Here Come the Wolves'
Rheostatics Announce Their First New Album in 15 Years
At long last, Rheostatics have announced the band are returning with a new album. Marking the Canadian rock heroes' first studio album in 15 years, Here Come the Wolves arrives on September 6 via Six Shooter Records.

The last time Rheostatics released a proper full-length was way back in 2004 with 2067, making Here Come the Wolves a long time coming indeed. The album was produced by Chris Stringer with mixing contributions by former Death Cab for Cutie sound whiz Chris Walla, as well as Michael Phillip Wojewoda and Gus Van Go.

The results are 12 new songs, and the album promises to unfurl "like a cross-section of the band's cumulative experience, individual and collective."

For a taste of this, you can watch a video for the newly shared title track "Here Come the Wolves."

Speaking of the clip, a press release states:

Today, Six Shooter Records fires "Here Come the Wolves," with a Martin Tielli arrow, a thesis on time and its abstractions via a revelatory glimpse into the making of the album art. Come for the behind-the-scenes snoop into Tielli's painting studio, stay for the free tutorial on the Renaissance technique of egg tempera grassa ("cannot vouch for reptilian egg"). The video, a rollercoaster ride through a painstaking and deliberate process, does with video what Here Come the Wolves does with music: it leaves its trace.

Watch the video below, where you'll also find the tracklist for the album and the band's upcoming live dates.

Here Come the Wolves:

1. Vancouver
2. AC/DC on the Stereo
3. Rearview
4. Here Come the Wolves
5. It's the Super Controller!
6. Music is the Message
7. Diamonds on Our Toes
8. I Wanna Be Your Robot
9. The Beautiful Night
10. Goodbye Sister Butterfly
11. Albatross
12. Mountains and the Sea

Tour dates:

07/26 Calgary, AB - Calgary Folk Festival
07/27 Edmonton, AB - Interstellar Rodeo